Site Map


Record Number of Undergraduates Participate in the 2013 PEER Internship Program

During the summer of 2013, the PEER Internship Program provided unique opportunities for a record number of outstanding undergraduate students to participate in state-of-the-art research — reaching for the first time a total of 20 interns! Internship participants were paired with a faculty advisor and a graduate student mentor. During the program, students learned how to conduct independent research and how to participate effectively as a member of a research team.

The 2013 PEER interns with REU PI Stephen Mahin and REU Coordinator Heidi Tremayne.

The 2013 PEER interns with REU PI Stephen Mahin and REU Coordinator Heidi Tremayne.

Funding for the 2013 PEER Internship Program came from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and PEER.

The participating students were:

– Jorge Archbold Monterrosa, Universidad del Norte, Columbia
– Matt Brosman, University of Florida
– Shelly Dean, Humboldt State University
– Katherine Delaveaga, University of California, Berkeley
– Curtis Fong, Stanford University
– Donovan Holder, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
– Elizabeth Jachens, California State University, Chico
– Rakeeb Khan, California State University, Sacramento
– David Lam, University of California, Berkeley
– Daniela Martinez Lopez, Universidad del Norte, Columbia
– Mara Minner, University of California, Berkeley
– Geffen Oren, Stanford University
– Julia Pavicic, Gonzaga University
– Melissa Quinonez, University of California, Irvine
– Lorena Rodriguez, San Jose State University
– Sean Salazar, University of Arkansas
– Kelli Slaven, University of Washington
– Vivian Steyert, Harvey Mudd College
– Jenny Taing, University of California, Berkeley
– Salvador Tena, University of California, Davis

PEER extends its thanks to the Faculty, Graduate Student and Earthquake Professional Mentors:

– Laurence Kornfield, City of San Francisco
– Ben Fell, California State University, Sacramento
– Greg Deierlein, Stanford University
– Eduardo Miranda, Stanford University
– Jack Moehle, UC Berkeley
– Stephen Mahin, UC Berkeley
– Jay Lund, UC Davis
– Ross Boulanger, UC Davis
– Jason DeJong, UC Davis
– Marc Eberhard, University of Washington
– John Stanton, University of Washington
– Jeffrey Berman, University of Washington
– Dawn Lehman, University of Washington
– Charles Roeder, University of Washington
– Cristian Acevedo, UC Berkeley
– Carlos Arteta, UC Berkeley
– Ezra Jampole, UC Berkeley
– Jiun-Wei Lai, UC Berkeley
– Matt Schoettler, UC Berkeley
– Scott Swenson, UC Berkeley
– Nathan Burley, UC Davis
– Rui Hui, UC Davis
– Mason Ghafghazi, UC Davis
– Michael Gomez, UC Davis
– Christopher Krage, UC Davis
– Ana Maria Parra, UC Davis
– Adam Price, UC Davis
– Molly Johnson, University of Washington
– Bryan Kennedy, University of Washington
– Jeffrey Schaefer, University of Washington
– Andy Sen, University of Washington
– Dan Sloat, University of Washington
– Max Taylor Stephens, University of Washington

Find more information about the PEER Internship Program.

Funding for the 2013 PEER Internship Program is provided National Science Foundation under Grant No. EEC-1063138. Any opinions, findings and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation (NSF).